Well another month down and I was wondering what I was going to write about to keep you guys updated.  I have been so focused on each training ride that I didn't quite realise just how much I have been up to throughout June.  

So here it goes... 

June was kicked off with some late-night filming for a television ad' down in London.  
Picture
Filming for TV Ad'
First thing on the agenda was some profile shots and some green screen action, so far so good.  Up next I had to ride my bike across a 12 foot long, 6 foot high piece of Perspex so that a camera could get a shot from underneath the bike as I rode it- Oh, have I mentioned it was really narrow and wet?! Having survived that though I then had to chase a truck mounted with one hell of a camera on the back!  
All in all however, it was a great experience and I can't wait to see the advert when it's finished.  I will keep you posted. 

After joining in some of the local Jubilee celebrations with my family I was off to Spain for  two weeks for some mid-altitude training, and luckily it wasn't the weather I was going for.   
Picture
"Sunny" Spain
I ended the training camp in Spain with a  21Km time trial and road race in Segovia.  The road race left me a little frustrated following a mechanical, which meant the remaining 60Km was very lonely, but I can't deny it was good for experience.  In the time trial however I finished 7th, just 40 seconds off 2nd place...which I felt was not bad for a first international road appearance.  

Back in the UK you may think I would have got a rest in but it was not meant to be as I had a few interviews and photo shoots lined up, including those for Men's Fitness and Live Magazine (Daily Mail), so do keep an eye out. 

On Saturday 23 June I was part of the Olympic Torch Relay through Prestwich.  
Picture
Olympic Torch Relay
It was a fantastic day and a real honour to be selected to carry the torch (even if it did mean running!).  As my daughter said, "I'm really looking forward to London now" but in truth I know that there is still a lot of training to put in.  So I headed down to Brands Hatch, which is where the London 2012 Paralympics road racing events will be hosted.  Whilst I was there I did a few laps of the course to see if there was a possibility of being entered into the events that will take place there come London.  I found it lumpy but I reckon I have an outside chance, so watch this space. 

On Tuesday 26 June 2012 the British Paracycling Association announced the Team GB paracycling squad for the London 2012 Paralympic Games.  I'm very pleased to say that I have been selected and will be competing! You can read more about the squad on the British Cycling website, HERE.   
Picture
Image taken by Eddie Allen
So, as I said there is still more to be done before the London 2012 Paralympic Games and I'm going to give it my all. 

But right now, I need to go and pack (again) as I'm off to Newport for a two week track camp. 
Person
3/26/2013 08:37:01 pm

Were you ever helped by Help for Heroes?

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Injured Ex-Serviceman now on GB Cycling Team. Holding 2 World Records and now training for London ’12 Paralympic Games. 

    Inspirational Motivational Speaker.


    Visit his main website
    www.j-butterworth.com

    Archives

    June 2012
    May 2012
    April 2012

    Categories

    All