Picture
Racing in Los Angeles
First stop was the UCI Para-Cycling World Track Championships held in Los Angeles, 9-12 February 2012 where I was to defend my World Title in the Men’s C5 1Km Time Trial.  This was no easy task as just minutes before my effort China’s Xingyang Liu broke the record I had set the year before in Montichiari.  I knew I was going to have to fight to keep my title and this was going to be the hardest Kilo I had ever done but I went on to retain my World title and reclaim my World Record with a time of 1:07:212 and secure a gold medal in my favourite event.    

Picture
With the Family
On the way back from Los Angeles I had a quick stop in London, alongside teammate Sarah Storey for a photo shoot with the Guardian (this should appear in May).  From here I went onto have a short family holiday which provided opportunity to have a brief rest from training and a chance for me to take stock after competition.  

Picture
At the Boot Out Breast Cancer Charity Ball
Returning to the UK and it was full steam ahead with putting a plan together and getting back into training.  In between my bike rides and gym sessions I was able to fit in a few prior engagements.  First there was a photo shoot for the National Portrait Gallery, the results of which are expected to be unveiled between July and September.  Following that I had another quick trip down to London for a talk at a conference with the Royal Society of Medicine focusing on Military Rehabilitation, being an injured ex-RAF serviceman this was a fantastic opportunity for me.  Then on 10 March my Wife and I attended a Charity Ball along with my GB teammates Barney and Sarah Storey, raising money for Boot Out Breast Cancer.

Picture
Training in Majorca
Mid-March saw the GB Paralympic Cycling Team head out to Majorca for a 9 day endurance camp; this was a combination of longer road rides, gym work, and more intense hill climb efforts, marking the start of the final stages of preparation for the London 2012 Paralympic Games.    




Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Injured Ex-Serviceman now on GB Cycling Team. Holding 2 World Records and now training for London ’12 Paralympic Games. 

    Inspirational Motivational Speaker.


    Visit his main website
    www.j-butterworth.com

    Archives

    June 2012
    May 2012
    April 2012

    Categories

    All